Antony Higginbotham returned as MP for Burnley

Antony Higginbotham has been returned as the Member of Parliament for Burnley in this year's General Election. 

The result is the first time in 109 years that a Conservative has won in Burnley, giving a clear message that the town wants change. 

Commenting on the result Antony said:

"This was a historic decision for Burnley and I know that a lot of people who came out and voted for me would not normally vote Conservative. In making this decision there is a clear message of wanting to see Brexit resolved so we can move on, and that's what I intend on doing.

I know that I have a big job to repay the trust put in me, but it is a job I am excited to start."



The results were as follows:

  • Antony Higginbotham (Conservative): 15,720
  • Julie Cooper (Labour): 14,368
  • Gordon Birtwistle (Liberal Democrat): 3,501
  • Stewart Scott (Brexit Party): 3,362
  • Charlie Briggs (Burnley & Padiham Independents): 1,162
  • Laura Fisk (Green): 739
  • Karen Helsby-Entwistle (Independent): 132

Turnout was 60.73%.